My take on Argentina – Brazil Friendly

At the announcement of the friendly game, or what they call the “World’s Classico” I started getting calls and questions if I will be there. I felt like I am the head of the FIFA or the most important celebrity to attend the Argentina-Brazil game in Qatar, on November 17, 2010.

I might not even be the most fanatic football fan on the planet, but the questions are just. First, the game is in Qatar, which is a one hour flight from where I stay in Dubai. Second, it is the Eid Holiday. Third, it is Argentina playing, and Argentina is the country that Maradona created and the reason why I watch football. More and more are the reasons justifying my attendance of the game, but I will be watching it on TV.

Once the announcement was made, I directly fast forwarded to December 02, 2010; the date “the FIFA Executive Committee will announce its verdict and award the hosting rights to the two best candidates” to host the 2018 and 2022 World Cups. The game is just another attempt from the committee in Qatar to win the bid; and I hate politics.

I always say, “Never mind the friend-lies,” and this game is just another example. The whole world will be watching, and the whole Arab Region will be blessed to see Messi, Ronaldinho, Alves, and many others, but I don’t care to see them in a friendly competition promoting a World Cup bid.

It will be great to see Qatar winning the bid, and I will be the first to rejoice, because I will definitely be there, when Messi is a 35 year old unused substitute and when Ronaldinho is the superstar of the Al Gharafa.

My boycott may have no sense behind it, but look at it from another perspective; Maradona’s teachings. The money that is paid for the two federations, the publicity surrounding it, the efforts to gain the sympathy of the world, and everything else is not the thing that will make me book a ticket and attend another begging parade to hail the almighty Sepp Blatter.

 

About figo29


2 responses to “My take on Argentina – Brazil Friendly

Leave a comment